Updates

584:

A couple quick things –

Had my Selective Service Citizens Board training over the weekend. Was really interesting learning the history of the draft, how it could be used today, and the process on how it be implemented if need be. The Navy officers that trained us were informative and personable, and I enjoyed the afternoon very much. As usual, I was the youngest person there by about 50 years, furthering my point that our generation needs to disconnect from the daily drama and get involved. It is sad that people are surprised to see someone ‘my age’ that is active in the community. Are we really that apathetic?

Got commissioned as a Notary Public in the State of Florida last week too. I figured that any time someone actually needs a notary, it is at an inconvenient time, so I went ahead and took the class and got my commission to help out people in the community. So shoot me an email if you need my services, I’d be happy to help.

I’ve been looking into starting an OpenSecrets.org/FollowTheMoney.org website for Miami-Dade County. Been in talks with many people in the transparency community and will be looking to get a grant to fund it. Doing campaign finance analysis really inspired me and sparked an interest in the circular flow of money in local politics. I also spent about 15 hours building a database for every major contribution for the Regalado campaign and have found some more interesting things that I will be publishing closer to the election. Sanchez’s database is in the making.

Another thing I was working on was getting the Coconut Grove Village Council on the ballot in November. After a lot of back and forth between Miami-Dade County, the City of Miami and the Village Council, we reached a solution and the Commission passed a resolution last Thursday authorizing the CGVC to piggyback on the city election.

The FPL front has been a little quiet the last couple of weeks. Rep. Lopez-Cantera’s office has been very helpful in getting a meeting set up in August, so I will post the details of that after it happens. Unfortunately, I will not be able to attend that meeting because it will be held during my trip. FPL’s public outreach consultant also gave me answers to the questions I sent them and sent me a copy of their 10-year Site Plan which I’m currently reviewing.

A week from today, I’m off to Greece for two weeks to visit my parents and sister. I will be out of touch by phone, but will check my email regularly. Really looking forward to the trip, and glad my friend Kuba is coming along.

That’s all for now,

-Stephen Murray

Leave a Reply

  • Disclaimer

    The contents of this blog do not reflect the opinions of the Coconut Grove Village Council, the Democratic National Committee, the Florida Democratic Party, the Miami-Dade Democratic Party, or any elected official or organization referenced herein.

    All opinions are exclusively those of Stephen Murray.

    All content (c) 2010 Stephen Murray

  • Credit

    Blog Layout and Design: Cassie Oswald (http://www.cassieoswald.com)

    Banner Photo Credit: Lindsay Brown for The Miami Hurricane

