Upcoming Events

584-

Last night was the monthly Village West Homeowners and Tenants Association (HOATA) meeting. This was the first one that I’ve attended, and enjoyed it very much. For those of you who have never been, these meetings allow any resident to voice their opinion, hear from representatives of our elected officials, and get a sense of what our community organizations have been up to. The next meeting will be on April 20th, at 3750 S. Dixie Hwy. (Frankie Rolle Center). I encourage you to come.

Some other events:

From Harlene Kennedy: There have been some concerns expressed about Florida Power and Light’s intent to put up high-voltage power lines throughout neighborhoods in Miami-Dade County.Commissioner Katy Sorenson has organized a community meeting to discuss this and other safety issues with FPL representatives. It will be on Thursday, March 26, 2009, at 6:30 PM at the South Miami-Dade Government Center, 10710 SW 211 Street, Cutler Bay. I will be driving to this event and have room for three more people, so please email me if you are interested.

The AllGrove Crimewatch has a meeting on Wednesday, April 8th, 2009, at 7:00 PM at St. Stephen’s Church.

I have received some mild criticism that I have been ‘pro’ City Commissioner Joe Sanchez. This is not true, as I have not made a decision yet as to who I will be supporting. What I can say is that Commissioner Sanchez has made an effort to come to the West Grove twice within one week to speak with our community leaders about issues, hence why he occupied two posts on this [new] blog.

That being said, his opponent, City Commissioner Tomas Regalado, will be having an event on Wednesday, April 8th, 2009, at 7:00 pm at the Coconut Grove Sailing Club (2990 S. Bayshore Drive). I hope that he intends on doing a West Grove meeting too, and I will probably go to this event to encourage him to do so. I’d like to reiterate that I have not made an endorsement for any candidate.

In other news, The Miami-Dade Democratic Party has been gearing up for the 2010 Senate elections. We have three Dade Democrats in the race: US Representative Kendrick Meek, State Senator Dan Gelber, and North Miami Mayor Kevin Burns. I will be working to make sure all three of these candidates make an effort to come to the West Grove to talk to us about issues.

Yesterday, I was out with my dog Biggie for three hours walking around the West Grove trying to meet as many of you as possible. There are 1,160 of us and I’ve been chipping away at that number in an effort to get to know everyone. Also, you should be receiving a mailing from me in the next two weeks asking you to get involved as a volunteer. This is part of my effort to reach out to homes that do not have internet access, so please take the time to read what I’m sending.

That is all for now, as always please feel free to call or email me.

-Stephen Murray

Leave a Reply

  • Disclaimer

    The contents of this blog do not reflect the opinions of the Coconut Grove Village Council, the Democratic National Committee, the Florida Democratic Party, the Miami-Dade Democratic Party, or any elected official or organization referenced herein.

    All opinions are exclusively those of Stephen Murray.

    All content (c) 2010 Stephen Murray

  • Credit

    Blog Layout and Design: Cassie Oswald (http://www.cassieoswald.com)

    Banner Photo Credit: Lindsay Brown for The Miami Hurricane

