Welcome to the West Grove Political Beat

Hello all, and welcome to my blog.

When the blog-craze first hit a few years ago, I never signed up for one. I was too busy playing video games and using some of the early social networking tools and figured I had nothing too worthwhile to say. While I still don’t really have much to say, I do now have a mission and a purpose for myself, and hope to make some fundamental changes in the way the Democratic Party operates in the West Grove.

This was an historic election, and being able to witness first hand as many members of Precinct 584 went to the polls to vote for our nation’s first black President was an experience I will never forget. I have much respect and admiration for President Obama and believe he is doing a fine job, given the mess he inherited from our previous administration.

The huge win that we as Democrats achieved was due to the hard work of people like Lottie Person, our Democratic Committeewoman, who went door-to-door registering voters and stayed at the polls from 7am-7pm on Election Day. We had a 69.7% Voter turnout here in our neighborhood, and it is my goal in the next four years to get that number to 85% and increase the amount of registered Democrats from 1,160 to 1,400.

My first responsibility as your committeeman is to be the main line of contact between voter and elected official. I have been working over the last few months to forge relationships with our elected officials at every level of government, to ensure that YOUR voice is heard. I am always open to talk, whether in person, by phone, or by email. You may see me walking around the neighborhood with my big brown dog, Biggie, so feel free to stop me to say hi.

The other half of my job is grunt work: Voter registration, canvassing, volunteer organization, fund-raising, mailings, working on election day, etc. I would appreciate any volunteer help I can get to make that job easier and to get better results, and if you are interested, please give me a call as soon as possible so we can get something started together. With the help of concerned neighbors, we can increase our voter turnout numbers which will increase the urgency of OUR issues in our elected officials’ eyes.

Right now I am working on getting a newsletter together that will introduce Lottie and myself to all of you — and reach the audience that isn’t able to access this blog. I also plan on going door-to-door to meet everyone I can.

Together we can bring a new sense of pride and prosperity to our neighborhood. Projects like ROOTS of Coconut Grove are a great addition to our community, and I would love to hear ideas for more things we can do like this in order to improve the quality of living for ALL of our West Grove residents.

-Stephen Murray

Leave a Reply

  • Disclaimer

    The contents of this blog do not reflect the opinions of the Coconut Grove Village Council, the Democratic National Committee, the Florida Democratic Party, the Miami-Dade Democratic Party, or any elected official or organization referenced herein.

    All opinions are exclusively those of Stephen Murray.

    All content (c) 2010 Stephen Murray

  • Credit

    Blog Layout and Design: Cassie Oswald (http://www.cassieoswald.com)

    Banner Photo Credit: Lindsay Brown for The Miami Hurricane

